Richard Strauss

Composer-conductor Richard Strauss (1864-1949) created some of opera's most exciting work (consider Elektra, Salome, and Der Rosenkavalier). Pittsburgh Festival Opera is pleased to present a cycle of works by Richard Strauss that are perhaps less well-known, but no less exquisite. The series includes:

  • Ariadne on Naxos (2014)
  • Capriccio (2015)
  • The Silent Woman (2016)
  • Intermezzo (2017)
  • Arabella (2018)
  • The Love of Danae (2019)



 The Strauss Cycle is made possible by generous support from:

  • Jerry Clack
  • William and Victoria Guy